Statement and reports of the Special Rapporteur on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples

Statement of the Special Rapporteur on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, Victoria Tauli-Corpuz, to the UN Human Rights Council, Geneva, September 17, 2014.

« I have the honor to present today my first report to the Human Rights Council since I formally assumed on June 2nd of this year the mandate conferred to me by this Council and the first time I address the Human Rights Council.

« I would like to start by thanking the Human Rights Council for entrusting me with the important task of fulfilling that mandate and I am committed to do so in an impartial and constructive manner and in accordance with the requirements set forth by the Council. I would also like to express my gratitude to the numerous indigenous peoples’ organizations and networks that have already engaged with my mandate.

« I take on the responsibility of the mandate with a great sense of humility and a firm commitment to build on the important work of my predecessors, former Special Rapporteur Professor James Anaya and former Special Rapporteur Rodolfo Stavenhagen. »

« As Special Rapporteur I am called upon to contribute to ensuring that indigenous peoples voices are effectively heard, and to facilitate a dialogue between indigenous peoples, Governments, and other relevant actors involved in specific situations across the world in which indigenous peoples’ rights are not being respected. I would like to reaffirm here my strong commitment to this role. »

Reports

« I am presenting as addenda to my annual report four reports produced by my predecessor, Professor James Anaya. Three of these relate to his final three missions to countries, that is, his visits to Panama, Canada and Peru. Each of these was carried out in 2013. In the fourth addendum, I present a summary of communications sent by Professor Anaya and replies received by relevant Governments, as well as observations to those communications made by my predecessor. »

Read full statement

See video

Read reports

A lire également (en français) : une présentation de la conférence mondiale des Nations unies sur les peuples autochtones (22-23 septembre 2014) publiée sur le site du GITPA.

 

 

Cet article, publié dans Droit international, Institutions internationales, rapport international, est tagué , , , , , . Ajoutez ce permalien à vos favoris.

Laisser un commentaire

